Printer comparison
Bambu Lab X2D vs QIDI Plus5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Bambu Lab X2D comparisonsMore QIDI Plus5 comparisons
| Property | Bambu Lab X2DCOREXY | QIDI Plus5COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Bambu Lab | QIDI |
| Class | COREXY | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Bambu Lab X2D; spec PDF header "X2D Spec"[1] | QIDI Plus5, sold as "QIDI Plus5 3D Printer"[2][3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Launched 5 August 2026, 09:00 EDT / 15:00 CEST[4] |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | Not documented | $749 regular launch price; a launch-window member discount put it under $700[4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | From $649.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026; the compare page shows the same $649 figure[5] | $749.00 for the standard model on us.qidi3d.com, checked Aug 2026. Other variants: Polar Cooler bundle $899.00, Plus5 Combo $899.00, Combo + Polar Cooler $1,049.00. No compare-at price listed[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Dual-nozzle machine: a main hotend with a permanent-magnet synchronous extruder motor and an auxiliary hotend with a plain stepper motor, so the two nozzles are not equivalent. Bambu publishes four different build volumes depending on which nozzle is used, and a shorter list of materials for the auxiliary nozzle. Physical dimensions (392x406x478 mm) are shared with the P2S but the X2D is 16.25 kg against the P2S's 14.9 kg[1][6] | Four purchase variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), and Combo + Polar Cooler. The Polar Cooler is a pre-sale add-on shipping separately, so its specs are not Plus5 specs. Replaces the Plus4 (305x305x280, 450 W + 400 W chamber)[2][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Current model, launched into the slot vacated by the discontinued X1-Carbon[5] | Current flagship of QIDI's large-format line as of Aug 2026; sits below the Max4 (390x390x340)[2][7] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | Main nozzle 256 x 256 x 260 mm; auxiliary nozzle 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; dual-nozzle printing 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; total volume for two nozzles 256 x 256 x 260 mm. The sortable figure below is the main-nozzle volume[1] | 320 x 320 x 300 mm advertised — QIDI states this is about 18% more volume than the Plus4[2][3][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 392 x 406 x 478 mm[1] | 500 x 488 x 558 mm[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 16.25 kg net[1] | 29.0 kg net[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Plastic and steel chassis; plastic, glass and metal outer frame[1] | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed with a door sensor, active chamber heating to 65 C, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack with an external exhaust fan[1] | Fully enclosed, with a 3-stage air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[2][3] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Active chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[1] | 65 °C, actively heated, 550 W chamber heater — reported as a 37.5% increase in heater power over the Plus4 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY - not stated in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the X2D with its enclosed CoreXY machines and publishes the same 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure[1] | CoreXY[3] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Not documented | High-precision linear rails on X[2][4] |
| Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?) | Not documented | 1.5GT belts, 9 mm wide — wider than the 2GT 6 mm belts common in this class[2][4] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1] | 600 mm/s (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1] | <=20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 40 mm3/s, measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1] | Not documented |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Not documented | Resonance compensation listed as a feature; implementation not named on the product page[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Two direct-drive extruders: main extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motor, auxiliary extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a stepper motor[1] | Direct drive with hardened dual gears[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Dual hardened-steel nozzles; 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; built-in filament cutter[1] | Ceramic heating-plate hotend with a bimetal nozzle; 0.4 mm standard, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[3] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1] | <=370 °C claimed[2][3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 120 C max heatbed temperature[1] | <=120 °C claimed, described by QIDI as an even-heating bed[2][3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible steel plate, Textured PEI included; Smooth PEI, Cool Plate SuperTack and Engineering Plate supported[1] | Aluminium silicone heated bed with a dual-sided textured PEI plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Not documented | Automatic levelling using an integrated load cell; QIDI describes it as direct nozzle-contact detection[3][4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Yes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[1] | Filament run-out sensor, plus a filament cutter[3] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Part-cooling fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and external exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[1] | Not documented |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Not documented | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon; QIDI claims 99.5% capture of airborne particles and dust[2][3][4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Motion controller dual-core Cortex-M4 plus single-core Cortex-M7; application processor quad-core ARM with a dedicated NPU (2 TOPS per the compare page)[1][8] | Not documented |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | Not documented | 100/240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[3] |
| Total rated power draw | High-voltage version 1600 W at 220 V, low-voltage version 1100 W at 110 V; steady state 250 W printing PLA and 550 W printing PC at 25 C ambient[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[9] | Not stated on the product page. QIDI's slicer ecosystem is QIDI Studio, and Orca/PrusaSlicer are listed as supported[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[1] | 4-inch touchscreen, 480 x 320[3] |
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Dual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port; Ethernet not available, no network kill switch, no 802.1X[1] | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz, Ethernet, USB; 32 GB eMMC storage plus USB 2.0 flash drive[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Two cameras: live-view 1920x1080 and a toolhead camera at 1600x1200[1] | AI camera with failure detection, up to 1080p, timelapse supported (low frame rate)[2][3][4] |
| LED chamber/toolhead lighting | Not documented | RGB status light[2] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Not documented | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[3] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Main hotend: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU, support materials, PET, PA, PC, PVA and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, PA6, PAHT, PPA, PET. Auxiliary hotend drops PPA-CF/GF and excludes PLA Aero; PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF, TPU for AMS and PA/PET support material are flagged "print with caution" on the auxiliary nozzle[1] | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, carbon- and glass-fibre-reinforced polymers[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[10] | QIDI store terms: 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[7] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Bambu Lab X2D Spec (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
- QIDI Plus5 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Plus5 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Plus5 launch write-up 3dprintbeginner.com · 2026-08 · review
- Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab P2S Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor