3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab X2D vs QIDI Max4

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab X2D vs QIDI Max4 — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab X2DCOREXYQIDI Max4COREXY
Identity
BrandBambu LabQIDI
ClassCOREXYCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab X2D; spec PDF header "X2D Spec"[1]QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[2][3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedNot published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[2][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $649.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026; the compare page shows the same $649 figure[5]$1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Dual-nozzle machine: a main hotend with a permanent-magnet synchronous extruder motor and an auxiliary hotend with a plain stepper motor, so the two nozzles are not equivalent. Bambu publishes four different build volumes depending on which nozzle is used, and a shorter list of materials for the auxiliary nozzle. Physical dimensions (392x406x478 mm) are shared with the P2S but the X2D is 16.25 kg against the P2S's 14.9 kg[1][6]Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[2][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Current model, launched into the slot vacated by the discontinued X1-Carbon[5]Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[2][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usableMain nozzle 256 x 256 x 260 mm; auxiliary nozzle 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; dual-nozzle printing 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; total volume for two nozzles 256 x 256 x 260 mm. The sortable figure below is the main-nozzle volume[1]390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[2][3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)392 x 406 x 478 mm[1]558 x 578 x 612 mm[3]
Net weight (kg)16.25 kg net[1]46.5 kg net[3]
Frame construction & materialPlastic and steel chassis; plastic, glass and metal outer frame[1]Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed with a door sensor, active chamber heating to 65 C, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack with an external exhaust fan[1]Fully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[3]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Active chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[1]65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[3]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY - not stated in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the X2D with its enclosed CoreXY machines and publishes the same 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure[1]CoreXY[3]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot documented2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[2]
Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known)Not documentedFOC closed-loop stepper motors[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1]800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[3]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[3]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)40 mm3/s, measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1]40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[3]
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Not documentedInput shaper listed as a feature[3]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameTwo direct-drive extruders: main extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motor, auxiliary extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a stepper motor[1]Direct drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[3]
Gear ratio & drive gear materialNot documented8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Dual hardened-steel nozzles; 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; built-in filament cutter[1]Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[3]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]<=370 °C claimed[2][3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 C max heatbed temperature[1]<=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[2][3]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedFlexible steel plate, Textured PEI included; Smooth PEI, Cool Plate SuperTack and Engineering Plate supported[1]Aluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Not documentedAutomatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[1]Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[3]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNot documentedQIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[2][3]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and external exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[1]Toolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[3]
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Not documented3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[3]
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Motion controller dual-core Cortex-M4 plus single-core Cortex-M7; application processor quad-core ARM with a dedicated NPU (2 TOPS per the compare page)[1][7]Not documented
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[3]
Total rated power drawHigh-voltage version 1600 W at 220 V, low-voltage version 1100 W at 110 V; steady state 250 W printing PLA and 550 W printing PC at 25 C ambient[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[8]Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[3]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[1]5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[3]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveDual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port; Ethernet not available, no network kill switch, no 802.1X[1]Wi-Fi, LAN, USB[3]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Two cameras: live-view 1920x1080 and a toolhead camera at 1600x1200[1]AI camera with print-failure detection[2][3]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[3]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listMain hotend: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU, support materials, PET, PA, PC, PVA and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, PA6, PAHT, PPA, PET. Auxiliary hotend drops PPA-CF/GF and excludes PLA Aero; PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF, TPU for AMS and PA/PET support material are flagged "print with caution" on the auxiliary nozzle[1]PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[3]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[9]1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab X2D Spec (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Bambu Lab P2S Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  7. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  9. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor