3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab X2D vs ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab X2D vs ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab X2DCOREXYELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16KRESIN
Identity
BrandBambu LabELEGOO
ClassCOREXYRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab X2D; spec PDF header "X2D Spec"[1]Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K. Elegoo's product handle is saturn-4-ultra-16k-10inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer. 3DJake item number ELG-50.101.038300[2][3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $649.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026; the compare page shows the same $649 figure[4]$649.99 in us.elegoo.com's live Shopify product JSON, in stock, with compare_at_price also $649.99 — no discount active at the time of checking (Aug 2026)[3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Dual-nozzle machine: a main hotend with a permanent-magnet synchronous extruder motor and an auxiliary hotend with a plain stepper motor, so the two nozzles are not equivalent. Bambu publishes four different build volumes depending on which nozzle is used, and a shorter list of materials for the auxiliary nozzle. Physical dimensions (392x406x478 mm) are shared with the P2S but the X2D is 16.25 kg against the P2S's 14.9 kg[1][5]Distinct from the earlier Saturn 4 Ultra (12K); the 16K carries a 15120 x 6230 masking LCD with 14 x 19 um pixels. Elegoo also sells it bundled with a Mercury Plus V2.0 wash/cure station and as a pre-owned SKU, neither of which is the printer-only price[2][3]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Current model, launched into the slot vacated by the discontinued X1-Carbon[4]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usableMain nozzle 256 x 256 x 260 mm; auxiliary nozzle 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; dual-nozzle printing 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; total volume for two nozzles 256 x 256 x 260 mm. The sortable figure below is the main-nozzle volume[1]211.68 x 118.37 x 220 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)392 x 406 x 478 mm[1]327.4 x 329.2 x 548 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)16.25 kg net[1]Not documented
Frame construction & materialPlastic and steel chassis; plastic, glass and metal outer frame[1]Metal housing with a flip-up cover and a drip guard[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed with a door sensor, active chamber heating to 65 C, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack with an external exhaust fan[1]Flip-up lid (Elegoo's own naming) over an open frame; UV-blocking cover[2]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Active chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY - not stated in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the X2D with its enclosed CoreXY machines and publishes the same 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure[1]MSLA with tilt-release: the vat tilts to peel each layer rather than pulling straight up. Elegoo claims the mechanism cuts curing time by 25%. Single Z axis, Z precision 0.02 mm[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)40 mm3/s, measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameTwo direct-drive extruders: main extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motor, auxiliary extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a stepper motor[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Dual hardened-steel nozzles; 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; built-in filament cutter[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 C max heatbed temperature[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedFlexible steel plate, Textured PEI included; Smooth PEI, Cool Plate SuperTack and Engineering Plate supported[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Not documentedAutomatic levelling, plus intelligent mechanical sensor alarms[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and external exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Motion controller dual-core Cortex-M4 plus single-core Cortex-M7; application processor quad-core ARM with a dedicated NPU (2 TOPS per the compare page)[1][6]Not documented
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 6 A[2]
Total rated power drawHigh-voltage version 1600 W at 220 V, low-voltage version 1100 W at 110 V; steady state 250 W printing PLA and 550 W printing PC at 25 C ambient[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[7]Elegoo EL3D-4.0 system. Slicer is CHITUBOX[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[1]4-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveDual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port; Ethernet not available, no network kill switch, no 802.1X[1]USB and Wi-Fi, with WLAN file transfer[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Two cameras: live-view 1920x1080 and a toolhead camera at 1600x1200[1]AI camera, 1920 x 1080[2]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Not documentedAI camera with print-failure detection[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listMain hotend: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU, support materials, PET, PA, PC, PVA and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, PA6, PAHT, PPA, PET. Auxiliary hotend drops PPA-CF/GF and excludes PLA Aero; PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF, TPU for AMS and PA/PET support material are flagged "print with caution" on the auxiliary nozzle[1]405 nm photopolymer resin; the heated tank is aimed at high-viscosity and high-speed resins. No closed compatibility list published[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[8]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented10-inch 16K monochrome masking LCD, 15120 x 6230 px, XY pixel pitch 14 x 19 um (manufacturer specification)[2][3]
Light sourceNot documentedCOB light source with a Fresnel collimating lens[2]
Light uniformity & intensityNot documentedLight energy at the plate quoted as 5 mW/cm2, i.e. 5000 uW/cm2 (manufacturer claim, attributed to the tilt-release and Fresnel optics). No uniformity percentage published and no independent measurement[2]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documentedUp to 150 mm/h (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[2]
Release filmNot documentedPFA release film. No rated life published[2]
LCD life & replaceabilityNot documentedMasking LCD shielded by tempered 9H protective glass. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state user replaceability[2]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedReplaceable resin vat with a dual pour spout and a drip guard. Heated tank with automatic temperature measurement: Elegoo states resin reaches 25 C in 26 minutes from a 5 C ambient at 50% humidity (manufacturer figure). Capacity not published; no auto-refill[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab X2D Spec (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K live Shopify product JSON us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Bambu Lab P2S Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  6. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  8. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor