3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab A2L vs FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab A2L vs FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab A2LBEDSLINGERFlashForge Adventurer 5M ProCOREXY
Identity
BrandBambu LabFlashForge
ClassBEDSLINGERCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab A2L[1]Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro; FlashForge's own spec table gives the machine name as "Adventurer 5M PRO" and the store abbreviates it AD5M Pro[2][3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Pre-orders opened 1 June 2026 (Tom's Hardware spec box); Tom's Hardware review published 27 June 2026[4]Not documented
Launch MSRP (USD)$469 standalone, $569 Combo at launch[4]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $469.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026[5]$449.00 sale against a $599.00 regular price on flashforge.com, in stock, with a further $80 auto-applied in cart, checked Aug 2026. FlashForge's own product feed lists the first variant at $399.00, so the price you see depends on the variant selected. A refurbished AD5M Pro is listed at $339.00[2][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Standalone and Combo (with AMS lite) SKUs, and an optional cutting/drawing module (blade cutter and pen plotter, 300x300 mm cutting area) that is a separate attachment, not a printer variant. Do not carry A1 or A1 mini figures across: the A2L is a different, much larger machine at 12.8 kg[1][4]Enclosed sibling of the open-frame Adventurer 5M (same 220 mm cube, same 280 °C nozzle, same 600 mm/s, but 100 °C bed vs 110 °C and no filtration). Also distinct from the AD5X, which shares the chassis but has a 300 °C nozzle, a 4-colour IFS unit and no air filtration. Refurbished units of all three are sold separately[2][6][7][3]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 320 x 325 mm (manufacturer figure)[1]220 x 220 x 220 mm advertised[2][8]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)544 x 529 x 505 mm[1]380 x 400 x 453 mm excluding the spool holder[2][8]
Net weight (kg)12.8 kg net[1]Not documented
Frame construction & materialAluminium and steel chassis with a plastic outer frame; Tom's Hardware describes a triangular gantry frame the base drops into[1]All-metal CoreXY structure (FlashForge writes it "CoXY")[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Enclosed. Dual-layer HEPA plus activated-carbon filtration on both internal and external circulation; FlashForge claims 99% capture of particles and VOCs[2][8]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian bed-slinger - Tom's Hardware's assembly description has the heatbed bolting to a Y-carriage inside the gantry frame[4]CoreXY[2][9]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot published in the spec sheet; no teardown source found that documents the Z drive[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim)[1]600 mm/s maximum travel speed (FlashForge's own table labels the 600 mm/s figure "Max Travel Speed", not print speed)[2][8]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)10 m/s2 = 10000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][8]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)28 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150 mm round single-wall model in Bambu PLA Basic at 220 C - note this test uses PLA, unlike the ABS-based figures Bambu quotes for its enclosed machines, so it is not directly comparable[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive with a servo extruder motor and hardened-steel extruder gears; built-in filament cutter[1]Direct drive, one extruder[2][8]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Stainless-steel nozzle; 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported. Bambu's A2L sheet does not state whether the hotend is all-metal[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]280 °C claimed[2][8]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit80 C max heatbed temperature[1]Conflicting manufacturer figures: FlashForge's own spec table says 100 °C platform temperature, 3DJake's table says 110 °C. Lower vendor figure used as the sortable value[2][8]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedTextured PEI plate included; Engineering Plate and Cool Plate SuperTack also supported[1]Flexible removable PEI-coated spring-steel plate[2][8]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic bed levelling with automatic Z: Tom's Hardware confirms the nozzle is used as the probe and the machine can re-check level before each print[4]Automatic levelling; FlashForge does not name the probe technology on the product page[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, filament odometry, tangle sensor and clumping detection[1]Filament run-out reminder[2]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan and hotend cooling fan, both closed-loop controlled. No auxiliary part-cooling fan and no chamber fan[1]Not documented
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Not documentedInternal plus external circulation with a HEPA and activated-carbon filter[2][8]
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documentedAC 100-120 V / 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz[2][8]
Total rated power drawNot documented350 W rated[2][8]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[10]Not documented
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.5-inch 240x320 touchscreen[1]4.3-inch screen[2][8]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only (802.11 b/g/n), Bambu-Bus, microSD card. Ethernet not available[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2][8]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Built-in low-frame-rate camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported[1]Camera monitoring listed; resolution and framerate not published[2]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-loss recovery, plus automatic shutdown[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listSuitable: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA. PLA-CF and PETG-CF suitable only after fitting a hardened-steel nozzle. ABS, ASA, PA, PC and PET are listed as not recommended on the compare page[1][11]PLA and PETG on the 0.4 mm nozzle; ABS/ASA; TPU, PLA-CF and PETG-CF on 0.6/0.8 mm nozzles[2]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedManufacturer claim only, no independent measurement: 50 dB in low-noise mode, 55 dB in standard mode. Distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[12]FlashForge's Adventurer 5M page states a 12-month limited warranty for that model; the 5M Pro page does not restate it[6]
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (27 June 2026)[4]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab A2L Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Flashforge store product feed (live prices and stock) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab A2L 3D printer review, 27 June 2026 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  5. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Flashforge Adventurer 5M product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Flashforge AD5X multicolour 3D printer product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review
  10. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  11. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  12. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor