3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab A2L vs ELEGOO Mars 5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab A2L vs ELEGOO Mars 5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab A2LBEDSLINGERELEGOO Mars 5RESIN
Identity
BrandBambu LabELEGOO
ClassBEDSLINGERRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab A2L[1]ELEGOO Mars 5. Elegoo's own product handle spells the configuration out: mars-5-4k-6-6inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[2][3][4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Pre-orders opened 1 June 2026 (Tom's Hardware spec box); Tom's Hardware review published 27 June 2026[5]Not documented
Launch MSRP (USD)$469 standalone, $569 Combo at launch[5]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $469.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026[6]$179.00 on us.elegoo.com against a $225.00 compare-at price (20% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026. The live product feed shows the same $179.00[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Standalone and Combo (with AMS lite) SKUs, and an optional cutting/drawing module (blade cutter and pen plotter, 300x300 mm cutting area) that is a separate attachment, not a printer variant. Do not carry A1 or A1 mini figures across: the A2L is a different, much larger machine at 12.8 kg[1][5]Sold beside the Mars 5 Ultra, which is a materially different machine: 7-inch 9K masking LCD vs 6.6-inch 4K, 18 um vs 35 um pixels, 150 vs 70 mm/h, a 4.0-inch capacitive control screen vs 3.5-inch resistive, and Wi-Fi (the plain Mars 5 is USB only). Elegoo lists ten further Mars 5 / Mars 5 Ultra bundle SKUs pairing the printers with Mercury wash-and-cure stations at $302-$432; those are not printer prices[2][7][3][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 320 x 325 mm (manufacturer figure)[1]143.43 x 89.6 x 150 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)544 x 529 x 505 mm[1]230 x 230 x 433.5 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)12.8 kg net[1]Approximately 6.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialAluminium and steel chassis with a plastic outer frame; Tom's Hardware describes a triangular gantry frame the base drops into[1]Metal frame with adjustable foot pads[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian bed-slinger - Tom's Hardware's assembly description has the heatbed bolting to a Y-carriage inside the gantry frame[5]MSLA — UV LCD masked stereolithography. Single Z axis, build plate lifting straight out of the vat (no tilt-release on this model, unlike the Mars 5 Ultra)[2][7]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot published in the spec sheet; no teardown source found that documents the Z drive[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)10 m/s2 = 10000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)28 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150 mm round single-wall model in Bambu PLA Basic at 220 C - note this test uses PLA, unlike the ABS-based figures Bambu quotes for its enclosed machines, so it is not directly comparable[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive with a servo extruder motor and hardened-steel extruder gears; built-in filament cutter[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Stainless-steel nozzle; 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported. Bambu's A2L sheet does not state whether the hotend is all-metal[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit80 C max heatbed temperature[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedTextured PEI plate included; Engineering Plate and Cool Plate SuperTack also supported[1]Laser-engraved build plate with a quick-release design[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic bed levelling with automatic Z: Tom's Hardware confirms the nozzle is used as the probe and the machine can re-check level before each print[5]Automatic levelling, one click. An intelligent mechanical sensor detects resin residue to prevent LCD damage[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, filament odometry, tangle sensor and clumping detection[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan and hotend cooling fan, both closed-loop controlled. No auxiliary part-cooling fan and no chamber fan[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[8]Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicers are Voxeldance Tango and CHITUBOX; STL and OBJ accepted[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.5-inch 240x320 touchscreen[1]3.5-inch resistive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only (802.11 b/g/n), Bambu-Bus, microSD card. Ethernet not available[1]USB only — no Wi-Fi on this model[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Built-in low-frame-rate camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listSuitable: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA. PLA-CF and PETG-CF suitable only after fitting a hardened-steel nozzle. ABS, ASA, PA, PC and PET are listed as not recommended on the compare page[1][9]405 nm photopolymer resin. Elegoo does not publish a resin compatibility list on this listing[2]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Not documentedIntelligent overheating protection stops printing above 80 °C[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[10]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (27 June 2026)[5]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented6.6-inch 4K monochrome masking LCD, 4098 x 2560 px, XY pixel pitch 35 x 35 um (manufacturer specification)[2][4]
Light sourceNot documentedCOB LED at 405 nm. Elegoo does not publish an LED count or collimating optics for this model[2]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented70 mm/h maximum (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[2]
Release filmNot documentedPFA film with a non-stick surface. No rated life published[2]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedReplaceable resin tank with two pouring openings and screw caps. An intelligent mechanical sensor detects resin residue in the vat. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[2]
Fume extractionNot documentedNone fitted. Elegoo states compatibility with the separately sold MARS MATE air purifier for odour reduction[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab A2L Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab A2L 3D printer review, 27 June 2026 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  6. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  9. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor