3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab A1 vs Sovol SV08 Max

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab A1 vs Sovol SV08 Max — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab A1BEDSLINGERSovol SV08 MaxCOREXY
Identity
BrandBambu LabSovol
ClassBEDSLINGERCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab A1. Store title: "Bambu Lab A1 3D Printer"; spec page header "Bambu Lab A1 - Technical Specifications"[1]Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[2][3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Announced and first shipped in the northern autumn/winter of 2023. Bambu Lab's own recall notice states A1 units were supplied from 1 December 2023; Tom's Hardware published its A1 review on 14 December 2023, so retail units were in reviewers' hands by then[4][5]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $299.00 (base A1) on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026, during an advertised Back-to-School sale; the A1 product page shows $399.00 with the A1 Combo (A1 + AMS lite) swatch selected[6][7]$1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[2][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Two SKUs on one product page: A1 (printer only) and A1 Combo (adds the AMS lite four-spool unit); the printer hardware is identical. Do NOT confuse with the A1 mini (180 mm cube, single Z leadscrew, 80 C bed, 2.4-in screen) or the newer A2L (330x320x325 mm). Contamination example found in the wild: Tom's Hardware's A1 review spec box prints a 2.4-inch screen and a 385x410x430 mm footprint (both A1 mini figures) and titles a section "Included in the box: Bambu Lab A1 Mini", while Bambu's own A1 spec sheet says 3.5-inch screen and 465x410x430 mm[1][5][7]Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[2][8][9][3]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Still sold new in Aug 2026 alongside the newer and larger A2L ($469 base), which Bambu positions as the mega-size A-series machine[6][10]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable256 x 256 x 256 mm (manufacturer figure)[1]500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[2][8]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)465 x 410 x 430 mm per Bambu's own tech-spec sheet. Tom's Hardware's spec box prints 385 x 410 x 430 mm for the same machine - that is the A1 mini's width, treat Bambu's figure as authoritative. Add clearance behind for Y-axis bed travel and above for the spool[1][5]700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[2][8]
Net weight (kg)8.3 kg net[1]Not documented
Frame construction & materialSteel plus extruded aluminium chassis; Bambu markets all-metal rails and a cover-protected drive system[1][11]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure or door; no official enclosure is sold for the A1[1]Enclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[2][3]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian bed-slinger: toolhead moves in X on the gantry beam, heatbed moves in Y, gantry moves in Z. Bambu's own wiki calls it a Cartesian coordinate motion system; Bambu's marketing page describes it as a "Bed Slinger with CoreXY Speed", which is a comparison, not a kinematic claim[12][11]CoreXY[2][8]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Linear rail: "a high-precision linear rail and a beam", toolhead on a linear guide slider (Bambu wiki). Rail size not published[12]Not documented
Y-axis guide typeLinear rail: heatbed mounted on a guide-rail slider, belt-driven in Y[12]Not documented
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashDual linear rods plus dual leadscrews with nuts, both leadscrews driven from one stepper through a synchronous belt with a quick tensioner and a tension-detection algorithm[12]Not documented
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)Three adjustable belt tensioners (X, Y, Z); a Belt Tension Monitor watches tension and reports out-of-range belts[12]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not published. Bambu's wiki says only that the mainboard "incorporates stepper motor drivers"; no driver part number is given and no teardown source was found that names one[12]Z axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[2][8]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1]700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][8]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)10000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim). Tom's Hardware notes the moving-bed mass is why the A1 does not reach the P1S/X1 20000 mm/s2 figure[1][5]40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][8]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)28 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150x150 mm single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1]50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][8]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive, hardened-steel extruder gears, integrated in the toolhead with a filament cutter and filament hub[1][12]Direct drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[2][8]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)All-metal integrated hotend (nozzle and heatsink combined in one unit) with a quick-swap clip - Bambu markets it as popping in and out with one clip. Stainless-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[1][11][12]Ceramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2][8]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max hot-end temperature; firmware limit not published[1]<=300 °C claimed[2][8]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C max build-plate temperature (both the spec sheet and the wiki give 100 C)[1][12]<=100 °C claimed[2][8]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedTextured PEI plate included; Bambu Cool Plate, High Temperature Plate and Dual-Texture PEI Plate also compatible[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Nozzle-touch probing: the hotend carries an eddy-current sensor that detects nozzle-to-bed contact, giving both automatic bed mesh and automatic Z-offset with no paper method. The same eddy-current sensor doubles as the Y-axis resonance sensor[12][5]Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - filament run-out sensor, plus filament odometry and a filament-tangle sensor. The tangle sensor is a Hall sensor reading a magnet in the toolhead filament hub: excessive feed resistance pulls the hub down, moving the magnet toward the sensor[1][12]Filament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[2][8]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathOptional AMS lite (four spools, sold in the A1 Combo); connecting the enclosed-printer AMS / AMS 2 Pro / AMS HT to an A1 additionally requires an AMS HUB accessory (SA013)[7]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designOne custom 5015 centrifugal part-cooling fan with two opposing air outlets aimed at the nozzle; closed-loop (RPM-feedback) control[1][12]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Single mainboard carrying a low-power dual-core SoC (with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth basebands and RF), a dual-core MCU and a single-core MCU, plus the stepper drivers. Bambu's spec sheet names the motion controller as a dual-core Cortex-M4. Exact chip markings not published[1]Not documented
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxNot documented1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][8]
Total rated power draw100-240 VAC 50/60 Hz; max power 1300 W at 220 V, 350 W at 110 V. Bed heater wattage is not published separately[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[13]Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[2][8]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.5-inch 320x240 IPS touchscreen[1]Not documented
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen UI plus Bambu Handy mobile app and Bambu Studio PC application; Bambu describes the on-device UI as a simplified guided touchscreen system[1][11]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi 2.4 GHz only (IEEE 802.11 b/g/n, 2412-2472 MHz), Bambu-Bus for the AMS lite, microSD card slot. No Ethernet, no USB host port[1]USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[2][8]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Built-in low-rate monitoring camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported; Bambu's marketing calls out a physical lens cover. Frame rate is not stated for the A1 (the P1 series camera is specified at 0.5 fps)[1][11]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printAbout 95% pre-assembled; a handful of screws attach the gantry to the base, then the filament wiper and spool holder[5]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[2][8]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listIdeal: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA. Not recommended: ABS, ASA, PC, PA, PET, carbon/glass-fibre reinforced polymers - the machine is open-frame and the bed stops at 100 C[1]1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[2][8]
Safety
Known safety incidents / recalls / fire reports (with sources)Recalled in the US in cooperation with the CPSC: A1 units sold before 30 January 2024 (serial numbers with 'A' as the sixth digit) could suffer heatbed cable damage leading to a short circuit, electric shock or fire. 19 reports of damaged cables, one with observed sparking, no injuries. Remedy was refund plus $80 voucher, or heatbed+cable replacement by a trained technician plus $120 voucher. Current production ships a Kevlar-reinforced heatbed cable with thicker insulation and extended strain relief[4][7]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Manufacturer claim only: bambulab.com states "Silent Mode Under 48 dB" with active motor noise cancelling; the US store page for both the A1 and the A1 mini carries identical copy claiming "49dB Whisper-Quiet Operation". No microphone-based independent measurement with a stated distance was found; Tom's Hardware only says it is "much more quiet than the current crop of speed freak machines"[11][7][5]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[14]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (14 December 2023)[5]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab A1 - Technical Specifications bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Bambu Lab - Bambu Lab Recalls A1 3D Printers in the US bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab A1 Review, Denise Bertacchi, 14 December 2023 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  6. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Bambu Lab A1 store page (A1 / A1 Combo variants) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  11. Bambu Lab A1 product page bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  12. Bambu Lab Wiki - A1 introduction wiki.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
  13. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  14. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor