Printer comparison
Anycubic Photon P1 Max vs Sovol SV08 Max
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Anycubic Photon P1 Max comparisonsMore Sovol SV08 Max comparisons
| Property | Anycubic Photon P1 MaxRESIN | Sovol SV08 MaxCOREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Anycubic | Sovol |
| Class | RESIN | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Anycubic Photon P1 Max[1] | Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[2][3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $959 advertised single-unit sale/from price; $999 compare-at, not launch MSRP. Global USD storefront, Other plug/no resin selected; US price, availability, shipping and tax require checkout. Checked 2026-10-17.[1] | $1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[2][3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Not documented | Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[2][4][5][3] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 285.5 × 214 × 300 mm (X × Y × Z), advertised 18.3 L; usable volume not independently measured.[1] | 500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[2][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 430 × 414 × 625 mm, manufacturer dimensions; external clearance not specified.[1] | 700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[2][4] |
| Net weight (kg) | 23.1 kg (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Not documented | Enclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[2][3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Not documented | CoreXY[2][4] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Dual linear guide rails and ball lead screws (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | Z axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[2][4] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Not documented | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | Not documented | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][4] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | 50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][4] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Direct drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[2][4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | Ceramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2][4] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | <=300 °C claimed[2][4] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | <=100 °C claimed[2][4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Precision-ground steel build platform[1] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Leveling-Free 3.0 with feedback and pre-print self-check (manufacturer claim)[1] | Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[2] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Not documented | Filament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[2][4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][4] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | 296 W power supply (manufacturer specification; not measured consumption)[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[2][4] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.5-inch resistive touchscreen[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi and Ethernet; manufacturer advertises LAN isolation mode.[1] | USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[2][4] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Not documented | Power-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[2][4] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Manufacturer lists all Anycubic resins; compatibility with other brands not verified.[1] | 1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[2][4] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 14-inch monochrome 12K masking LCD; 24.8 × 24.8 µm XY pixel pitch (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Light source | COB + Fresnel + mask light source[1] | Not documented |
| Light uniformity & intensity | ≥4000 µW/cm² intensity and 92% uniformity (manufacturer claims)[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | 15–25 mm/h at 0.05 mm layers with standard resin (manufacturer claim; not independently measured).[1] | Not documented |
| Layer height range | 0.02–0.15 mm layer height[1] | Not documented |
| Release film | NFEP release film; store separately describes its Wave Release system.[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | 1.9 L vat with dynamic temperature control; auto-fill unit not supported.[1] | Not documented |
| Fume extraction | Optional AirPure 2.0 accessory; filtration efficacy not independently verified.[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Anycubic Photon P1 Max official store: single-unit price and specifications Anycubic · 2026-10-17 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor