Printer comparison
Anycubic Photon P1 Max vs QIDI Max4
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Anycubic Photon P1 Max comparisonsMore QIDI Max4 comparisons
| Property | Anycubic Photon P1 MaxRESIN | QIDI Max4COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Anycubic | QIDI |
| Class | RESIN | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Anycubic Photon P1 Max[1] | QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[2][3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Not published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[2][4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $959 advertised single-unit sale/from price; $999 compare-at, not launch MSRP. Global USD storefront, Other plug/no resin selected; US price, availability, shipping and tax require checkout. Checked 2026-10-17.[1] | $1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Not documented | Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[2][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[2][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 285.5 × 214 × 300 mm (X × Y × Z), advertised 18.3 L; usable volume not independently measured.[1] | 390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[2][3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 430 × 414 × 625 mm, manufacturer dimensions; external clearance not specified.[1] | 558 x 578 x 612 mm[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 23.1 kg (manufacturer specification)[1] | 46.5 kg net[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Not documented | Fully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[3] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | 65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Not documented | CoreXY[3] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Dual linear guide rails and ball lead screws (manufacturer specification)[1] | 2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[2] |
| Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known) | Not documented | FOC closed-loop stepper motors[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Not documented | 800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[3] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | Not documented | 30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[3] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | 40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Not documented | Input shaper listed as a feature[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Direct drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[3] |
| Gear ratio & drive gear material | Not documented | 8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[3] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | <=370 °C claimed[2][3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | <=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[2][3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Precision-ground steel build platform[1] | Aluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Leveling-Free 3.0 with feedback and pre-print self-check (manufacturer claim)[1] | Automatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[3] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Not documented | Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[3] |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | Not documented | QIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[2][3] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Not documented | Toolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[3] |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Not documented | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[3] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | 296 W power supply (manufacturer specification; not measured consumption)[1] | Not documented |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | Not documented | 110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.5-inch resistive touchscreen[1] | 5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi and Ethernet; manufacturer advertises LAN isolation mode.[1] | Wi-Fi, LAN, USB[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Not documented | AI camera with print-failure detection[2][3] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Not documented | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[3] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Manufacturer lists all Anycubic resins; compatibility with other brands not verified.[1] | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | Not documented | 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[2] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 14-inch monochrome 12K masking LCD; 24.8 × 24.8 µm XY pixel pitch (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Light source | COB + Fresnel + mask light source[1] | Not documented |
| Light uniformity & intensity | ≥4000 µW/cm² intensity and 92% uniformity (manufacturer claims)[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | 15–25 mm/h at 0.05 mm layers with standard resin (manufacturer claim; not independently measured).[1] | Not documented |
| Layer height range | 0.02–0.15 mm layer height[1] | Not documented |
| Release film | NFEP release film; store separately describes its Wave Release system.[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | 1.9 L vat with dynamic temperature control; auto-fill unit not supported.[1] | Not documented |
| Fume extraction | Optional AirPure 2.0 accessory; filtration efficacy not independently verified.[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Anycubic Photon P1 Max official store: single-unit price and specifications Anycubic · 2026-10-17 · vendor
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor