3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Anycubic Photon P1 Max vs Bambu Lab X2D

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Anycubic Photon P1 Max vs Bambu Lab X2D — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnycubic Photon P1 MaxRESINBambu Lab X2DCOREXY
Identity
BrandAnycubicBambu Lab
ClassRESINCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Anycubic Photon P1 Max[1]Bambu Lab X2D; spec PDF header "X2D Spec"[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$959 advertised single-unit sale/from price; $999 compare-at, not launch MSRP. Global USD storefront, Other plug/no resin selected; US price, availability, shipping and tax require checkout. Checked 2026-10-17.[1]From $649.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026; the compare page shows the same $649 figure[3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Not documentedDual-nozzle machine: a main hotend with a permanent-magnet synchronous extruder motor and an auxiliary hotend with a plain stepper motor, so the two nozzles are not equivalent. Bambu publishes four different build volumes depending on which nozzle is used, and a shorter list of materials for the auxiliary nozzle. Physical dimensions (392x406x478 mm) are shared with the P2S but the X2D is 16.25 kg against the P2S's 14.9 kg[2][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedCurrent model, launched into the slot vacated by the discontinued X1-Carbon[3]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable285.5 × 214 × 300 mm (X × Y × Z), advertised 18.3 L; usable volume not independently measured.[1]Main nozzle 256 x 256 x 260 mm; auxiliary nozzle 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; dual-nozzle printing 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; total volume for two nozzles 256 x 256 x 260 mm. The sortable figure below is the main-nozzle volume[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)430 × 414 × 625 mm, manufacturer dimensions; external clearance not specified.[1]392 x 406 x 478 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)23.1 kg (manufacturer specification)[1]16.25 kg net[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedPlastic and steel chassis; plastic, glass and metal outer frame[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidNot documentedFully enclosed with a door sensor, active chamber heating to 65 C, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack with an external exhaust fan[2]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not documentedActive chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Not documentedCoreXY - not stated in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the X2D with its enclosed CoreXY machines and publishes the same 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure[2]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashDual linear guide rails and ball lead screws (manufacturer specification)[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[2]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documented20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[2]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented40 mm3/s, measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedTwo direct-drive extruders: main extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motor, auxiliary extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a stepper motor[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedDual hardened-steel nozzles; 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; built-in filament cutter[2]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented120 C max heatbed temperature[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedPrecision-ground steel build platform[1]Flexible steel plate, Textured PEI included; Smooth PEI, Cool Plate SuperTack and Engineering Plate supported[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Leveling-Free 3.0 with feedback and pre-print self-check (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedYes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[2]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designNot documentedPart-cooling fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and external exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[2]
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Not documentedMotion controller dual-core Cortex-M4 plus single-core Cortex-M7; application processor quad-core ARM with a dedicated NPU (2 TOPS per the compare page)[2][5]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)296 W power supply (manufacturer specification; not measured consumption)[1]Not documented
Total rated power drawNot documentedHigh-voltage version 1600 W at 220 V, low-voltage version 1100 W at 110 V; steady state 250 W printing PLA and 550 W printing PC at 25 C ambient[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedClosed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[6]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.5-inch resistive touchscreen[1]5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Not documentedTouchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[2]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi and Ethernet; manufacturer advertises LAN isolation mode.[1]Dual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port; Ethernet not available, no network kill switch, no 802.1X[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Not documentedTwo cameras: live-view 1920x1080 and a toolhead camera at 1600x1200[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listManufacturer lists all Anycubic resins; compatibility with other brands not verified.[1]Main hotend: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU, support materials, PET, PA, PC, PVA and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, PA6, PAHT, PPA, PET. Auxiliary hotend drops PPA-CF/GF and excludes PLA Aero; PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF, TPU for AMS and PA/PET support material are flagged "print with caution" on the auxiliary nozzle[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[7]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD14-inch monochrome 12K masking LCD; 24.8 × 24.8 µm XY pixel pitch (manufacturer specification)[1]Not documented
Light sourceCOB + Fresnel + mask light source[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensity≥4000 µW/cm² intensity and 92% uniformity (manufacturer claims)[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/h15–25 mm/h at 0.05 mm layers with standard resin (manufacturer claim; not independently measured).[1]Not documented
Layer height range0.02–0.15 mm layer height[1]Not documented
Release filmNFEP release film; store separately describes its Wave Release system.[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feeding1.9 L vat with dynamic temperature control; auto-fill unit not supported.[1]Not documented
Fume extractionOptional AirPure 2.0 accessory; filtration efficacy not independently verified.[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Photon P1 Max official store: single-unit price and specifications Anycubic · 2026-10-17 · vendor
  2. Bambu Lab X2D Spec (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  3. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Bambu Lab P2S Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  5. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  7. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor