3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Anycubic Photon P1 Max vs Bambu Lab A1

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Anycubic Photon P1 Max vs Bambu Lab A1 — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnycubic Photon P1 MaxRESINBambu Lab A1BEDSLINGER
Identity
BrandAnycubicBambu Lab
ClassRESINBEDSLINGER
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Anycubic Photon P1 Max[1]Bambu Lab A1. Store title: "Bambu Lab A1 3D Printer"; spec page header "Bambu Lab A1 - Technical Specifications"[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedAnnounced and first shipped in the northern autumn/winter of 2023. Bambu Lab's own recall notice states A1 units were supplied from 1 December 2023; Tom's Hardware published its A1 review on 14 December 2023, so retail units were in reviewers' hands by then[3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$959 advertised single-unit sale/from price; $999 compare-at, not launch MSRP. Global USD storefront, Other plug/no resin selected; US price, availability, shipping and tax require checkout. Checked 2026-10-17.[1]From $299.00 (base A1) on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026, during an advertised Back-to-School sale; the A1 product page shows $399.00 with the A1 Combo (A1 + AMS lite) swatch selected[5][6]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Not documentedTwo SKUs on one product page: A1 (printer only) and A1 Combo (adds the AMS lite four-spool unit); the printer hardware is identical. Do NOT confuse with the A1 mini (180 mm cube, single Z leadscrew, 80 C bed, 2.4-in screen) or the newer A2L (330x320x325 mm). Contamination example found in the wild: Tom's Hardware's A1 review spec box prints a 2.4-inch screen and a 385x410x430 mm footprint (both A1 mini figures) and titles a section "Included in the box: Bambu Lab A1 Mini", while Bambu's own A1 spec sheet says 3.5-inch screen and 465x410x430 mm[2][4][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedStill sold new in Aug 2026 alongside the newer and larger A2L ($469 base), which Bambu positions as the mega-size A-series machine[5][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable285.5 × 214 × 300 mm (X × Y × Z), advertised 18.3 L; usable volume not independently measured.[1]256 x 256 x 256 mm (manufacturer figure)[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)430 × 414 × 625 mm, manufacturer dimensions; external clearance not specified.[1]465 x 410 x 430 mm per Bambu's own tech-spec sheet. Tom's Hardware's spec box prints 385 x 410 x 430 mm for the same machine - that is the A1 mini's width, treat Bambu's figure as authoritative. Add clearance behind for Y-axis bed travel and above for the spool[2][4]
Net weight (kg)23.1 kg (manufacturer specification)[1]8.3 kg net[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedSteel plus extruded aluminium chassis; Bambu markets all-metal rails and a cover-protected drive system[2][8]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidNot documentedOpen frame, no enclosure or door; no official enclosure is sold for the A1[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Not documentedCartesian bed-slinger: toolhead moves in X on the gantry beam, heatbed moves in Y, gantry moves in Z. Bambu's own wiki calls it a Cartesian coordinate motion system; Bambu's marketing page describes it as a "Bed Slinger with CoreXY Speed", which is a comparison, not a kinematic claim[9][8]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Not documentedLinear rail: "a high-precision linear rail and a beam", toolhead on a linear guide slider (Bambu wiki). Rail size not published[9]
Y-axis guide typeNot documentedLinear rail: heatbed mounted on a guide-rail slider, belt-driven in Y[9]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashDual linear guide rails and ball lead screws (manufacturer specification)[1]Dual linear rods plus dual leadscrews with nuts, both leadscrews driven from one stepper through a synchronous belt with a quick tensioner and a tension-detection algorithm[9]
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)Not documentedThree adjustable belt tensioners (X, Y, Z); a Belt Tension Monitor watches tension and reports out-of-range belts[9]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedNot published. Bambu's wiki says only that the mainboard "incorporates stepper motor drivers"; no driver part number is given and no teardown source was found that names one[9]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[2]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documented10000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim). Tom's Hardware notes the moving-bed mass is why the A1 does not reach the P1S/X1 20000 mm/s2 figure[2][4]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented28 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150x150 mm single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDirect drive, hardened-steel extruder gears, integrated in the toolhead with a filament cutter and filament hub[2][9]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedAll-metal integrated hotend (nozzle and heatsink combined in one unit) with a quick-swap clip - Bambu markets it as popping in and out with one clip. Stainless-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2][8][9]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented300 C claimed max hot-end temperature; firmware limit not published[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented100 C max build-plate temperature (both the spec sheet and the wiki give 100 C)[2][9]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedPrecision-ground steel build platform[1]Textured PEI plate included; Bambu Cool Plate, High Temperature Plate and Dual-Texture PEI Plate also compatible[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Leveling-Free 3.0 with feedback and pre-print self-check (manufacturer claim)[1]Nozzle-touch probing: the hotend carries an eddy-current sensor that detects nozzle-to-bed contact, giving both automatic bed mesh and automatic Z-offset with no paper method. The same eddy-current sensor doubles as the Y-axis resonance sensor[9][4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedYes - filament run-out sensor, plus filament odometry and a filament-tangle sensor. The tangle sensor is a Hall sensor reading a magnet in the toolhead filament hub: excessive feed resistance pulls the hub down, moving the magnet toward the sensor[2][9]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNot documentedOptional AMS lite (four spools, sold in the A1 Combo); connecting the enclosed-printer AMS / AMS 2 Pro / AMS HT to an A1 additionally requires an AMS HUB accessory (SA013)[6]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designNot documentedOne custom 5015 centrifugal part-cooling fan with two opposing air outlets aimed at the nozzle; closed-loop (RPM-feedback) control[2][9]
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Not documentedSingle mainboard carrying a low-power dual-core SoC (with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth basebands and RF), a dual-core MCU and a single-core MCU, plus the stepper drivers. Bambu's spec sheet names the motion controller as a dual-core Cortex-M4. Exact chip markings not published[2]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)296 W power supply (manufacturer specification; not measured consumption)[1]Not documented
Total rated power drawNot documented100-240 VAC 50/60 Hz; max power 1300 W at 220 V, 350 W at 110 V. Bed heater wattage is not published separately[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedClosed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[10]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.5-inch resistive touchscreen[1]3.5-inch 320x240 IPS touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Not documentedTouchscreen UI plus Bambu Handy mobile app and Bambu Studio PC application; Bambu describes the on-device UI as a simplified guided touchscreen system[2][8]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi and Ethernet; manufacturer advertises LAN isolation mode.[1]Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz only (IEEE 802.11 b/g/n, 2412-2472 MHz), Bambu-Bus for the AMS lite, microSD card slot. No Ethernet, no USB host port[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Not documentedBuilt-in low-rate monitoring camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported; Bambu's marketing calls out a physical lens cover. Frame rate is not stated for the A1 (the P1 series camera is specified at 0.5 fps)[2][8]
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printNot documentedAbout 95% pre-assembled; a handful of screws attach the gantry to the base, then the filament wiper and spool holder[4]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listManufacturer lists all Anycubic resins; compatibility with other brands not verified.[1]Ideal: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA. Not recommended: ABS, ASA, PC, PA, PET, carbon/glass-fibre reinforced polymers - the machine is open-frame and the bed stops at 100 C[2]
Safety
Known safety incidents / recalls / fire reports (with sources)Not documentedRecalled in the US in cooperation with the CPSC: A1 units sold before 30 January 2024 (serial numbers with 'A' as the sixth digit) could suffer heatbed cable damage leading to a short circuit, electric shock or fire. 19 reports of damaged cables, one with observed sparking, no injuries. Remedy was refund plus $80 voucher, or heatbed+cable replacement by a trained technician plus $120 voucher. Current production ships a Kevlar-reinforced heatbed cable with thicker insulation and extended strain relief[3][6]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedManufacturer claim only: bambulab.com states "Silent Mode Under 48 dB" with active motor noise cancelling; the US store page for both the A1 and the A1 mini carries identical copy claiming "49dB Whisper-Quiet Operation". No microphone-based independent measurement with a stated distance was found; Tom's Hardware only says it is "much more quiet than the current crop of speed freak machines"[8][6][4]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[11]
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Not documentedTom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (14 December 2023)[4]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD14-inch monochrome 12K masking LCD; 24.8 × 24.8 µm XY pixel pitch (manufacturer specification)[1]Not documented
Light sourceCOB + Fresnel + mask light source[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensity≥4000 µW/cm² intensity and 92% uniformity (manufacturer claims)[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/h15–25 mm/h at 0.05 mm layers with standard resin (manufacturer claim; not independently measured).[1]Not documented
Layer height range0.02–0.15 mm layer height[1]Not documented
Release filmNFEP release film; store separately describes its Wave Release system.[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feeding1.9 L vat with dynamic temperature control; auto-fill unit not supported.[1]Not documented
Fume extractionOptional AirPure 2.0 accessory; filtration efficacy not independently verified.[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Photon P1 Max official store: single-unit price and specifications Anycubic · 2026-10-17 · vendor
  2. Bambu Lab A1 - Technical Specifications bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Bambu Lab - Bambu Lab Recalls A1 3D Printers in the US bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab A1 Review, Denise Bertacchi, 14 December 2023 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  5. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Bambu Lab A1 store page (A1 / A1 Combo variants) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Bambu Lab A1 product page bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Bambu Lab Wiki - A1 introduction wiki.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
  10. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  11. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor